Wawaset Park Maintenance Corp.

Our Information

About Us

Wawaset Park Maintenance Corp.

Wawaset Park-A Unique Community

Wawaset Park is a unique community of 209 homes situated on 50 acres within the western limits of the city of Wilmington Delaware. Approximately half the homes were built in the period 1918-1919 by the DuPont Company with the balance constructed in the 1920's by individual owners and developers.

Rapid industrial expansion during World War I led to a serious housing shortage in Wilmington and the DuPont Company decided to develop a residential community of homes to be offered for sale to their employees. Several sites were considered and the Company finally purchased a tract known as Wawaset Park. For almost 60 years, under various names and ownership, the site had been a horse racing track and fairgrounds.

To design the new community the Company hired Baltimore architect Edward L. Palmer, Jr. who proposed a planned community with housing options ranging from attached row houses to large detached single family dwellings. Palmer devised a network of curving streets conforming to the natural contours of the land, large set-backs to create openness, and land use restrictions to preserve the integrity and attractiveness of his architectural concepts.

To formalize the plan a Deed and Agreement was signed February 28, 1919 and has been renewed every 25 years since, most recently in 1989. The Deed prescribes the conditions which run with the land and are binding upon every property owner. Protective restrictions pertain to land use and to the dimensions, type, design and placement of structures. Over the years the Trustees have enacted regulations concerning external alterations such as windows, shutters, roofing, paint and fencing.

As a result of architect Palmer's design and the stewardship of the Wawaset Maintenance Corporation and property owners over the years, Wawaset Park was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986. This distinction is a source of pride for property owners and reinforces the uniqueness of the community.


About our association

Officers and Trustees

President- Hal Schneikert
Vice President-Mimi Griffenberg
Treasurer-John Morton
Secretary-Mary Luft

District 1-Zack Zehner-1106 Greenhill
District 2-Drew Hastings-922 Blackshire
District 3-Blake Meyers-2301 Ridgeway
District 4-Debbie Lee-900-Blackshire Rd.
District 5-Kevin Sullivan-2311 MacDonough
District 6-Rich Anguillo-718 Greenhill
District 7-Meridith Recape-719 Nottingham
District 8-David Teague-716 Coverdale
District 9-Erik Underhill-2304 Saymoure
District 10-Lynne Cannatelli-715 Nottingham
District 11-Diane Shomper-701 Blackshire Rd.
District 12-Kathy Veith- 4 Bedford Ct.

Architectural Chair-Randall Attix
Trees Chair-Hal Schneikert
Grounds Chair-Carroll Eaton
Newsletter Chair-Diane Shomper
New Residents Chair-Lynne Cannatelli
Security, Utilities, Roads Chair-Henry Supinski
Community Relations Chair-Harry Haon
Community Events Chair-Lynne Cannatelli
Finance Chair-John Morton

Sponsored Links
Advertise Here!

Promote Your Business or Product for $10/mo


For just $10/mo you can promote your business or product directly to nearby residents. Buy 12 months and save 50%!


Zip Code Profiler

19805 Zip Code Details

Neighborhoods, Home Values, Schools, City & State Data, Sex Offender Lists, more.