

News of Board of Education issues and actions from Dr. Abelardo Saavedra, Superintendent of Schools

Board Elects New Officers

January 16, 2009

School years begin in August, but the terms of Board of Education offices start in January. Thus, the first board meeting of 2009 began with the election of new officers. The trustees chose Lawrence Marshall to serve as president, Natasha Kamrani as first vice president, Greg Meyers as second vice president, Carol Galloway as secretary, and Diana Dávila as assistant secretary. Prior to the meeting, I presented the board with a plaque inscribed with the proclamation from Governor Rick Perry recognizing National School Board Recognition Month.

HISD's trustees make difficult policy and budget decisions that affect every household in Houston, and I join the board in thanking outgoing president Harvin Moore for his dedication and leadership during a challenging year. I also congratulate Lawrence Marshall on his new leadership role with the district, and I look forward to working with him and the eight other trustees on keeping HISD a national leader in public education.

2009 HISD Board of Education

Lawrence Marshall, *President*Natasha M. Kamrani, *First Vice President*Greg Meyers, *Second Vice President*Carol Mims Galloway, *Secretary*Diana Dávila, *Assistant Secretary*Paula M. Harris
Dianne Johnson
Harvin C. Moore
Manuel Rodríguez Jr.